top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiza

Cigar Box Viola Da Gamba? 🤔

While amid other projects, I got a sudden urge to experiment with one of my soprano cigar box guitars. I dug up my violin, which I acquired during a whimsical misadventure to learn the instrument in my twenties, and unpacked the bow and rosin from its dusty case. Side note: I think it's possible to become an expert CBG slide player at any age; the same isn't true of the violin. Anyway, I rosined up my bow and applied it to the strings of my cigar box guitar. Surprisingly, the sound was reminiscent of a viola da gamba, and I instantly knew that building cigar box leg fiddles was in my future. With a few construction mods, such as creating a lower string action, a curved bridge, and adding frets, I can build a cigar box leg fiddle and adapt my CBG playing techniques to a bowed instrument! Stay tuned for more about this experiment here, or on my YouTube channel.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page